Faculty

Michael Bowers, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Arizona. Research and teaching interests: Courts & Law, Civil Rights & Liberties, and Rights of Women.
WRI B214
(702) 895-3141
michael.bowers@unlv.edu





David Damore, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, University of California, Davis. Research
and teaching interests: American Politics, Election Campaigns,
and Research Methods.
WRI B213
(702) 895-3217
david.damore@unlv.edu
visit the website



David Fott, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, Harvard University. Research and teaching interests: Political Thought & Philosophy and American Government & Politics.
WRI B217
(702) 895-4187
dfott@unlv.nevada.edu
visit the website



Rebecca Gill, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, Michigan State University. Research and teaching interests: Public Law, Comparative Law and Courts, Comparative Judicial Behavior, the American Courts, and Research Methods.
WRI A214
(702) 895-2525
rebecca.gill@unlv.edu
visit the website

 

Cathy Hanks, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor-in-Residence
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Research and teaching interests: National Security Policy and Intelligence.
WRI A218
(702) 895-3757
cathy.hanks@unlv.edu

 


Tiffiany Howard, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Political Science & Public Policy, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor. Research and teaching interests: International Relations, State Failure, Conflict and Security, and Refugee and Immigration Policy.
WRI A210
(702) 895-3354
tiffiany.howard@unlv.edu
visit the website



Ted G. Jelen, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, Ohio State University. Research and teaching interests: Religion & Politics, Political Behavior, Public Opinion, Research Methods, and History of Political Thought.
WRI B206
(702) 895-3355
jelent@unlv.nevada.edu




Christian Jensen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles. Research and teaching interests: Comparative Politics, Political Institutions of the European Union, Industrial Democracies.
WRI A212
(702) 895-1337
christian.jensen@unlv.edu
visit the website




Michele Kuenzi, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, Michigan State University. Research and teaching interests: African Politics and Research Methodology.
WRI B211
(702) 895-4693
michele.kuenzi@unlv.edu





Mark J. Lutz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Toronto. Research and teaching interests: Classical Political Philosophy, Early Modern Political Philosophy, Religion and Politics, and Civic Education.
WRI B216
(702) 895-2899
mark.lutz@unlv.edu
visit the website



Steven Parker, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Internship Coordinator
Ph.D., Political Science, State University of New York. Research and teaching interests: Natural Resource Policy, Water Policy, the American Presidency, American National Government, Political Ethics and Natural-Resource-Based Tourism.
WRI B208
(702) 895-3710
parkers@unlv.nevada.edu
visit the website



Dennis Pirages, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, Stanford University. Research and teaching interests: International Politics of Technology and Resources, Globalization, Environmental Policy, Infectious Disease and Pandemics, and Global Futures.
WRI B215
(702) 895-5252
dennis.pirages@unlv.edu

 

Peter Pizor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor-in-Residence
Ph.D., Political Science, Rutgers University. Research and teaching interests: International Relations, Comparative Politics, and U.S. and Nevada Constitution.
WRI A216
(702) 895-1498
peter.pizor@unlv.edu



Jonathan R. Strand, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and PSC Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Research and teaching interests: International Relations, Political Economy, East Asian Politics, Global Governance, and Global Environmental Politics.
WRI B210
(702) 895-3356
strand@unlv.nevada.edu
visit the website



Mehran Tamadonfar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Political Science, University of Colorado at Boulder. Research and teaching interests: Comparative Politics and Law (Politics of developing systems, Middle East and North Africa, Comparative Legal Systems), International Relations (methods, theories, Middle East and North Africa), and Research Methodology.
WRI B212
(702) 895-3318
mehran.tamadonfar@unlv.edu


John P. Tuman, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of the Department of Political Science
Ph.D., Political Science, University of California, Los Angeles. Research and teaching interests: Comparative Politics (Latin America) and International Relations.
WRI B225
(702) 895-5258
john.tuman@unlv.edu
visit the website



Part-Time Instructors

Abigail Aguilar, Ph.D.
Part-Time Instructor
CDC 430
(702) 895-4334
aguila26@unlv.nevada.edu

Jordan Bradley,
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A208
(702) 895-1498

Francis Carleton, Ph.D.
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A208
(702) 895-1498
francis.carleton@unlv.edu

Anthony Jordan, Ph.D.
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A206
jordaa1@unlv.nevada.edu

Autoosa Kojoori-Saatchi, M.A.
Part-Time Instructor
asaatchi@unlv.nevada.edu

Nerses Kopalyan, M.A.
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A206
(702) 895-0403
kopalyan@unlv.nevada.edu

Don Mirjanian, Ph.D.
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A208
(702) 895-0403
don.mirjanian@unlv.edu

Majid Shirali, M.A.
Part-Time Instructor
WRI A206
(702) 895-0403
shiralim@unlv.nevada.edu

Melanie Young, M.A.
Part-Time Instructor
melanie.young@unlv.edu